My interest in philosophy

I have not officially finished my reading about Existentialism, but I have been struggling to grasp this ideological concept. According to the Cambridge Advanced Learner’s Dictionary, “existentialism is the modern system of belief made famous by Jean Paul Sartre in the 1940s in which the world is meaningless and each person is alone and completely responsible for their own actions, by which they make their own character.” This way of thinking sounds reasonable to me and self evident. Yet, there are still more complex threads about this ‘ism’ that are waiting for me to unravel. I will soon find out more about this philosophical principle but at the moment my average sized brain cannot take it any more. The central nervous sytem is a bit slow right now.

I suppose the best way to comprehend this set of beliefs is to read literature written by those influential in the field. People like Franz Kafka, Fyodor Dostoevsky, Albert Camus etc. To say this does not mean that I am forgetting about Soren Kierkegaard and Friedrich Nietzsche or the other prominent authors who have helped, in their own ways, to open the door to this unique way of thinking. Thus far, I have acquired some very decent novels that will assist my understanding of the existential theme, e.g. The Trial by Franz Kafka, Notes from Underground by Fyodor Dostoevsky and The Stranger also known as The Outsider by Albert Camus. I shall read these very well known books in due course and will very much enjoy them.

1 Comment

Filed under Belief, Book

One response to “My interest in philosophy

  1. yodmanudying

    ขอให้สนุกนะคะ 🙂

Leave a Reply

