Books as usual

For the past few weeks, I have been quite busy watching a lot of DVDs that I have accumulated since last year. There are far too many and it is time to watch all of them before I go away to a far flung place where I will spend time resting in an area of scenic beauty. It sounds ridiculously sad that I am up to my eyes in watching movies. I do not have time to blog or even read the mass of books that I have been buying every month, let alone enough time to rest. But this is just the way I prioritise what I want to do in life.

Talking about buying books, I have obtained two books that I think will stimulate the interest of anybody who does not already know about them. The first one is 2666, a novel written by Roberto Bolano, a Chilean novelist and poet, who sadly passed away five years ago. I bought the book in January when it was first published in English in the UK and straight away transferred it to my bookshelf. I do not suppose I will have time to read it for a while. I have been hearing about this book since last year. What drew my attention to it was the comparison between this author and Gabriel García Márquez, the author of “One Hundred Years of Solitude”. Some have even suggested that readers who like Haruki Murakami’s books will also enjoy this Chilean author’s works.You can read about him and the book via the links: Guardian.co.uk|TheObserver and NYtimes.

Another book that I received yesterday, which is also inspiring, is a political history book. It is the much talked about book that inspired Barack Obama: “Team of Rivals: The Political Genius of Abraham Lincoln”, written by Doris Kearns Goodwin, winner of the Pulitzer Prize. Personally, I am not paticularly keen on this genre, but having said that, I do not mind venturing into new, unknown territory, even though I know this will be very tough going for me seeing as I know nothing about the fundamentals of American politics and President Lincoln. Every politician or anyone interested in politics should read this book as some commenters have said. If I had the chance to meet ObaMark – Mark is the nickname of the current Thai Prime Minister – I would certainly recommend that he reads this book. Though I doubt that he would agree with the idea of bringing some of his fiercest rivals into his Cabinet.  You may already know what Thai politicians are like. But if, by any chance, Khun Abhisit fancies the notion of inviting the opposition to work in his administration like the American president did, he would certainly need to watch his back. Otherwise, he might feel an unexpectedly sharp pain between the shoulder blades!

2 Comments

Filed under Book, Politics

2 responses to “Books as usual

  1. yodmanudying

    หนังสือที่แนะนำน่าสนใจดีอ่ะค่ะ
    ว่าแต่กำลังจะไปเที่ยวไหนเหรอคะ?
    ^_^

  2. ยังไม่ตัดสินใจว่าเป็นที่ไหนครับ คือว่าตอนนี้กำลังดูอยู่สามสี่ที่ ขึ้นอยู่กับว่ามีงบอยู่แค่ไหนครับ

    🙂

Leave a Reply

