The happiness of Kati – trailer with English subtitles

This Thai movie is based on the S.E.A Write Award winning and well-received novel of the same name written by Khun Jane Vejjajiva, also known as Ngarmpun Vejjajiva, a sister of the current Thai Prime Minister Abhisit Vejjajiva. The story is about a 9-year-old girl, whose mother, whom she has not seen for almost five years, is suffering from Lou Gehrig’s disease, a severe illness. Kati travels to meet her mother and be there with her during the last weeks of her life. There she learns the reason why her mother left her behind with her grandparents and she also learns that she has the chance to meet the father she has never known. You can read more about the book via the link. The movie is scheduled to be shown in Thai cinemas nationwide on 8 January next year. There is also an English translation of the book which I happen to have a copy of, in case foreigners want to read this poignant story.

3 Comments

Filed under Book, Entertainment, Film, Thailand, Thai_People

3 responses to “The happiness of Kati – trailer with English subtitles

  1. I got to know ‘Jane’ Vejajjiva when I was trying to get my novel, “Thai Girl” translated into Thai. I had so many messages from Thais who’d read it or struggled to read it in English that I though it as worth a shot.

    In her work as an agent and translator Khun Jane read it for me and liked it and tried hard to find a publisher. During this time, when I had no idea of her connections, I got to know and admire her for her courage and fortitude. I am now thrilled for her that her book has received such critical acclaim. It is no coincidence that she writes so movingly about long term illness as she is a sufferer from cerebral palsy. What is easy for the rest of us must be a painful struggle for her and I am full of admiration for her.

    Andrew Hicks

  2. I got to know ‘Jane’ Vejajjiva when I was trying to get my novel, “Thai Girl” translated into Thai. I had so many messages from Thais who’d read it or struggled to read it in English that I though it as worth a shot.

    In her work as an agent and translator Khun Jane read it for me and liked it and tried hard to find a publisher. During this time, when I had no idea of her connections, I got to know and admire her for her courage and fortitude. I am now thrilled for her that her book has received such critical acclaim. It is no coincidence that she writes so movingly about long term illness as she is a sufferer from cerebral palsy.

    Andrew Hicks

  3. Indeed, the Vejajjiva family is talented and a good example for Thais to look up to.

    Khun Andrew, I am pleased to know that many Thais read your book in spite of their struggle to overcome the language barrier. For me, I have yet to read your Thai Girl. It is still standing elegantly amongst the hundred books on my bookshelves. Please don’t hate me!

    🙂

Leave a Reply

