The delightful Spanish director Pedro Almodóvar

For the past few years, I have been fortunate enough to be able to watch many movies from around the world: that is one of the many positive things of living abroad. I must say that in terms of cinematic experience, I have learned that there are many directors’ voices from every corner of the world and as many different ways of telling a story. People do not need to be bombarded by Hollywood cliches or films from their own countries. There are so many interesting movies to appreciate in the world cinema.

This morning the postman delivered a collection of wonderful movies by the Spanish director, Pedro Almodóvar.  The collection contains five accomplished examples of his work: ‘Bad Education’, ‘Tie Me Up, Tie Me Down’, ‘Live Flesh’, ‘All About My Mother’ and ‘Talk To Her’. I have watched seven movies by this Spanish filmaker so far and all I can say is that there is not one of his films that I do not like. Every story told via his medium interests me, although they may not always overly excite me from the beginning. But inevitably the story slowly comes to life, like a flower blossoming.

Leave a comment

Filed under Art, Entertainment, Film, Spain

Leave a Reply

