The Remains of the Day

I have been watching “The Remains of the Day”, adapted from Kazuo Ishiguro‘s Booker Prize-winning novel, for the third time. I first watched the movie as part of a “British Life and Institutions” course, which was one of the subjects I had to study in my first semester in the UK. I was not then able to understand anything about the movie, nor did the majority of my classmates. Many of us could not cope with the formal style of English language that the actors use in the film. Consequently, when the professor asked us, after it had finished, if we had been able to grasp anything from the movie, unsurprisingly, almost all of us immediately turned mute, except for a couple of people who attempted to answer the question.

I felt really bad with the fact that I could not follow anything at all with the movie, let alone try to talk about it in group discussion. I suppose the professor might also have felt a bit discontented with our performance. To be honest, I felt that we had let him down but at the same time there was not much we could do as the posh language was far beyond our understanding. On the way home after the class had ended I decided to drop by at Waterstones, a well-known bookstore in the UK, to get a copy of this wonderful novel. I left it on my bookshelf for two years before reading it. It turned out that, this time, I was able to understand the language used in the story; I enjoyed it a lot.

I have not yet finished my latest viewing of the movie, but I am very well pleased with the fact that I can now follow almost everything that has happened in “The Remains of the Day”. It must illustrate how much my English has improved. The movie is very interesting and I am greatly enjoying it.

2 Comments

Filed under Book, Education, Film, UK

2 responses to “The Remains of the Day

  1. yodmanudying

    เป็นเรื่องเกี่ยวกับอะไรเหรอคะ ยังไม่เคยอ่านเลย

    ตอนนี้กำลังอ่าน after dark ค่อยๆแทะเล็มไปเรื่อยๆ เพราะไม่อยากให้จบเร็ว สนุกดีจัง คาดว่าคุณ oneditorial ต้องอ่านจบไปนานแล้วแน่ๆเลย 🙂

  2. เป็นเรื่องเกี่ยวกับคนรับใช้ที่ทำหน้าที่ของตนเองต้วยกายและใจในช่วงหลังสงครามโลกครั้งที่ 2 ในบ้านของชนชั้นสูงของอังกฤษ เป็นการเดินทาง และ ระลึกถึงอดึตที่เกิดขึ้นในบ้านหลังนั้น ไม่ว่าจะเป็นเรื่องการเมืองระหว่างประเทศ หรือว่าความรักที่ตนเองต้องสูญเสียเพราะการไม่เปิดเผยความรู้สึกต่อคนที่ตนเองก็มีความรู้สึกเช่นเดียวกันกับคนๆ นั้น

    อ่าน After Dark แล้วครับ ช่วงแรกจะชอบเรื่องราวเกี่ยวกับคนน้องมากกว่า แต่พออ่านไปได้สักพักชอบทั้งพี่และน้อง ตอนอ่านเรื่องนี้ของมูราคามิผมรู้สึกเหมือนว่ากำลังนั่งชมหนังอาร์ตเฮาส์ยังไงก็ไม่รู้ โดยรวมแล้วก็ชอบครับ

Leave a Reply

