R for Rant

I woke up sharply with a morning glory. While I was trying to walk steadily to the toilet, I tried to force myself not to glance at those David Foster Wallace books on the bookshelf, standing amongst my many other beloved books. It was quite hard for me, mentally and physically, to get over his sudden demise and my morning glory but before long I managed to ease the latter. I finished breakfast pretty quickly and went back upstairs to tidy the bed. After finishing this chore, I decided to carry on reading a novel by some third rate writer. The story is not mighty appealing; it is something to do with a guy who has to juggle with his work and family life with his wife, ex-wife and his son. After reading a few pages, I was overwhelmed with boredom and tossed the book back to where it belongs. I then decided to check on news of the bygone American writer on the internet. I ‘googled’ and found one particularly interesting article about DFW, which is on the Guardian website: “the commencement speech the author gave to a graduating class at Kenyon College, Ohio“. It was a very good speech. You might want to check it out. I liked what I was reading so much so that I wanted to print it out. As things turned out, though, there was a problem while I was trying to get the article onto the paper. Frustratingly, I was fiddling with it for quite a while before making the decision to copy the whole text to a Word document. In the end, I got what I wanted. I had a bit of time left before lunch, so I felt I wanted to read that third rate novel again. I managed to read only four pages as I was quite hungry and it was already three o’clock in the afternoon. Well, this is normally my lunch time and I usually get up around eleven o’clock. After lunch, I initially headed to the bathroom for a shower, but I suddenly realised that there was something that needed to be sorted out: Marie Antoinette, the paperback written by Antonia Fraser has got a crease along its spine. I tried my best to fix it although I thought it would be impossible, and it really was. Another aggravation attack, I shoved the book back in the cupboard. Standing in the shower, I was still unable to get DFW out of my head. However, this time I was pissed off at the many opportunistic booksellers who, overnight, have increased the price of his books. I strongly recommend that anyone who has never read his work before should wait for a while until the story of this tragic event dwindles before getting one of this wonderful writer’s books. I turned on the tap to wash away the fuss that was flooding my mind. Seconds later, I felt at ease and quickly had a strong urge to release the tension in my “bone”. Whenever I have done this, it was simply a banging experience. You know very well what I mean. Subsequently, I manicured my hands a bit by cutting my finger nails and softened them with lotion. And then, I was in a state of MILF which is short for “Man! I’d like food.” I did not understand why I felt hungry again. I then got dressed, came downstairs and had dinner. Amazingly, I managed three meals in the short period of time I had been awake – this is normal for me. There was not a lot to do so I came back to the computer to start composing this post. I had been doing it for a few minutes, when I had to go to do other things. Hours later, back at the computer again, I am sitting here not knowing what to say and trying to think of something other than DFW, but I have nothing else to tell, not for today. I have had enough.

1 Comment

Filed under Book, News, personal

One response to “R for Rant

  1. Here is the unedited transcript of the 2005 Kenyon Commencement Address:

    http://www.marginalia.org/dfw_kenyon_commencement.html

Leave a Reply

