On the train

A long time ago, when I first came to the UK to study English Language in London, I had to commute there by train. This caused me a bit of concern as I had never used an electric train before and I did not know how the system worked either. But I manged to learn from someone around here whose name is not appropriately mentioned on this blog. In the end, it was not that difficult and I could manage it by myself.

The thing that I liked about travelling on the train in the UK is that I felt relaxed, especially on the mid-afternoon train when there were not many commuters. I also liked the view of the rolling countryside as the train passed by. I cannot specifically describe it. For some strange reason, it just made me feel good and calm. It was just like being in this music video, Star Guitar, by the Chemical Brothers, directed by one of my favourite directors, Michel Gondry.

The funny thing about travelling on the train in England is that people are always quiet. It seems like there is nobody there. I think the reason for this is that people just do not want to express themselves in public since it might draw attention to themselves. It could be a bit embarrassing if other passengers heard what you said about your own business, whether by phone or just in ordinary discussion. And it would be inconsiderate too if you talked too much as it would disturb other passengers.

Still, that does not mean I would like to commute on the train on a regular basis. I merely like the feeling of sitting and looking out of the window and at other passengers’ faces on the train. Strangely, nobody seemed to make eye contact with me. If a passenger did, I might provide that person with a wink to eye him or her up! People are unbelievably shy. There was not much I could do, except to sit still, look out of the window and enjoy the scenery.

1 Comment

Filed under British people, Music, Travel, UK

One response to “On the train

  1. yodmanudying

    ใช่เลยค่ะ ชอบนั่งรถไฟมากๆเหมือนกัน แต่ของเรานั่งจากลอนดอนไปต่าง จว
    วิวจะสวยมากๆ พยายามนั่งเบ่งตามองออกไปข้างนอกตลอดเผื่อจะได้ซึบซับภาพทั้งหมดเข้าไปในใจ สบายใจดีค่ะ

    คุณ onediorial (มีชื่อเล่นไม๊คะ) อยู่ที่เมืองไหนเหรอคะ?

Leave a Reply

