Luuk Chin

Different kinds and tastes of Luuk Chin

Grilled Luuk Chin

Last night, while I was lazing around on the sofa and doing nothing in particular, I suddenly had a craving for a certain kind of snack which is seen ubiquitously in Thailand. It is often sold on busy streets and footpaths. It is called “Luuk Chin” and is very yummy and cheap.

I did not know where this delicious tiny ball originally came from, but I have been aware of it from my earliest childhood. It has been around since the year dot. It is certainly one of the most popular snacks and more often than not, people prefer to eat it straight from the stick. More precisely there are at least four or five balls per stick. The seller will skewer them together and lay them on the grill or put them into boiling oil – personally I prefer grilled Luuk Chin. In my youth, if I had ten or twenty baht – more than enough to buy sufficient to fill my tummy – I would often visit the Luuk Chin seller nearby, sometimes with my friends. We would stand there eating as many as we liked, depending on our budget, with a lot of succulent sauce and slices of cucumber and cabbage, which the seller kindly provided to accompany the Luuk Chin. In typically Thai way, we would carry on eating and talking to both the seller and other customers on various matters, mainly gossiping. It is a good way for Thai people to obtain some revealing information at street level. To me, the people who make a living like this tend to be streetwise and instinctively aware of what is going on in their surroundings. Because of this, their sincere opinions cannot be ignored. On top of that, these people also provided me with affordable and delightful chow.

Thinking about Luuk Chin is making me feel a tad homesick. My life was so easy then, while I was living in Thailand. If I was hungry, I simply went out to find something to eat, like this tiny little meat ball or other Thai street food. I could not have asked for a better way of indulging myself. If you are a foreigner living in Thailand and happen to walk past a Luuk Chin seller, I would like you to take a few seconds to picture me being very eager for the food and smirk at my misery.

1 Comment

Filed under Food, Thailand, Thai_People

One response to “Luuk Chin

  1. yodmanudying

    อยากกินด้วยคน ลูกชิ้นปิ้ง หมูปื้ง ปลาหมึกปิ้ง โอ้ย อร่อย!

Leave a Reply

