Birthday

It is a very special day for one of my friends. I wonder what she is doing right now. Is she going out for a celebration or just staying at home with her family and friends? Whatever she is doing, I would love to wish her great happiness on her birthday. It is a shame that I am unable to greet her in person; but saying it on a Birthday card and via an email will do.

Personally, I do not usually have a big party for my birthday. For all I can remember, I had a Birthday cake party once in my life. It was a very nice cake, especially as it was made by my big sister. It was not exactly a proper one; its ingredients consisted mainly of flour, you might call it a loaf of bread. Somehow she managed to make something out of it as a gift for me. I cannot recall whether I and the others who were with me at the time, enjoyed it or not. All I know is that I was chuffed, everyone was in such a festive mood and I could see the smile on my sister’s face.

Somebody once told me that the best way to celebrate the day when you were born is to go to see your mother – unless you are living abroad when saying thank you to her on the phone will do – to give her a big hug and express your gratitude for what she has done for you; i.e. carrying you in her womb for nine months, bringing you up, feeding you, sanitising you when you made a mess of yourself and the most important is that the love that your mother gives is eternal. For that reason, a birthday ought to be a time to recognise how nice your mother is. That’s the way it should be. Undoubtedly, every mum would be deeply appreciative.

Leave a comment

Filed under personal

Leave a Reply

