I am a bibliophile

Every month I spend a great deal of money on books and magazines. In particular I buy a lot of novels by Japanese writers such as Haruki Murakami, Banana Yoshimoto or Ryu Murakami, many of whose books have been translated into English. There are also many American and English authors but I have not yet had the opportunity to read any of their work. Despite this, I still keep on searching for new books. For instance, over the last month and a half I have purchased all of Martin Amis‘s novels, albelt I have read none of them yet. It is likely to be one of my obsessive compulsive behaviours that when I have obtained one book by a particular author I need to get the rest of his or her books as soon as possible. Yet, I might or might not read them all within a few months. As well as buying books, I also purchase monthly some interesting magazines, like Monocle or Wallpaper*. So far, I have bought every issue of Monocle, all 14 of them. Of all of these, I have read only a couple of articles. Soon, the next issue is coming out. I certainly have a lot of reading to catch up with; there are too many and I am struggling to keep up with what I have already bought. But I do not think that I ought to quit buying books, magazines and other reading stuff as this is just the way I am.

2 Comments

Filed under Book, Magazine

2 responses to “I am a bibliophile

  1. Congratulations on buying all those Amises! I think he’s the best writer of his generation. London Fields is a classic. Did you buy Experience…wonderful memoir. Happy reading. There are some laughs ahead in your life…

  2. Thank you for your comment. I have all of his books, including Experience, but I haven’t read any of them yet!! I will read his books some day, when I have the time…

Leave a Reply

